Fast Cars and High Heels

22 Sep

Give a girl the right shoes and she can conquer the world. – Bette Midler

I blame my unprecedented love for shoes on the movies. Cinderella’s missing glass slipper opened her eyes to a whole new world, one free of evil stepsisters and filled with love from her handsome Prince Charming. Dorothy’s ruby red slippers possessed the ability to take her to the end of the yellow brick road, introducing her to the Scarecrow, the Tin Man and the Cowardly Lion before kindly returning her home again.  As a four-year old completely obsessed with these stories about iconic shoes, I vowed to never give up my search for such an enchanted pair of footwear.

the ruby red slippers worn by Judy Garland in "The Wizard of Oz" (1939) are now displayed at the National Museum of American History.

As I grow older, my belief in the magical power of shoes continues to be tested. Most recently, Carrie Bradshaw’s satin and bejeweled pair of Manolo Blahniks only confirmed what I already knew to be true.  These shoes – one of many pairs belonging to a woman who fully embraces this accessory’s undeniable charm – led her down an entirely unexpected path back to an already-sold Fifth Avenue apartment and into the arms of Mr. Big. They even served as her “something blue” in a wedding that she once believed would never happen.

A pair of high heels changes the way a girl feels, the way she looks at the world. They boost a woman’s confidence, giving her a certain je ne sais quoi that causes heads to turn and hearts to melt. Just as a man sits behind the wheel of a European sports car and instantly gains a new sense of pride, a woman slips on a pair of pumps and holds the power to do it all.

Without the proper shoes, an outfit fails to reach its fullest potential, and an occasion cannot be properly celebrated.  And, like all good shoppers, I already have my sights set on my next conquest. While the most important man in my life may simply see a stupid-expensive pair of shoes (his words, not mine), I see the perfect pair of pumps that will become the only pair of pink shoes I ever need to own.

As much as my father may claim not to understand the value of the right shoes, I think he gets it more than he admits. He likes his pricey purchases to come in speed yellow with a custom-made engine, lightweight yet durable wheels and built-in navigation system. I like mine to come in rich magenta leather with a classic round toe, three-and-a-quarter-inch heel and that signature red sole. Ultimately, we both just want to get to where we are going with a certain level of class and confidence.

further proof that shoes can, in fact, be magical.

top of my wish list: Christian Louboutin - Simple 85 Pumps

Leave a Reply

