Like Mother, Like Daughter

20 Oct

A daughter is a mother’s gender partner, her closest ally in the family confederacy, an extension of her self.  And mothers are their daughters’ role model, their biological and emotional road map, the arbiter of all their relationships. – Victoria Secunda

I have always admired my mother for numerous reasons, one of those being her sense of fashion. She knows what works for her body type, sticks to colors that highlight her complexion, and always dresses first and foremost for herself. And because I look just like her (no, really – exactly like her), I learned at an early age to have great self-awareness when presenting myself to the world.

mama's mini me

Beyond her wide wardrobe selection, my mother has a fabulous closet to fill. Boxes of shoes stacked neatly on the shelves, belts draped purposefully over hooks, clothes organized according to type, color and season – it’s any little (or big) girl’s dream world. Already being an organized individual, her closet showed me how to extend my need for order into my love for fashion. For instance, despite my propensity to move at least once a year and to my father’s disbelief, I have somehow managed to keep nearly all of my shoeboxes. A girl’s got to have priorities, right?

Making the process of getting ready exceptionally easy, her closet is connected to the bathroom that my parents share.  She makes the most of her personal space: elegant perfume bottles, gold accents, a soft pink stool with rose detailing along the legs. It is the ideal spot for any woman to start her day.  I recently experienced déjà vu as I sat at her vanity and applied my make-up, only this time I was a grown woman going through my usual morning routine as opposed to a daughter testing adult waters with her mother’s make-up collection.

Over the years, my mom has bestowed upon me enough life lessons to last, well, a lifetime. She taught me that true style means that your outer appearance is a reflection of your inner self.  A girl must appreciate the basics and not fall victim to fleeting trends. When it comes to make-up, I tend to recreate a natural look – after all, blush and mascara and lip gloss is meant to accent your already beautiful features, not cover-up who you are. Beyond preparing to present myself to the world, she has shown me to face each day with confidence and a smile, to turn to God in good and troubled times, and to always, always remember that she is just a phone call away.

In return, I believe that I have taught her a few things as well.  Focusing on fashion, I have shown her the worth of buying one nice “forever” item, momentarily disregarding the expensive cost, rather than ten similar pieces that may or may not fulfill one’s quest for the perfect black pumps or season-friendly cashmere cardigan. Ultimately, the money spent adds up to nearly the same total, but your return on investment is quite improved if the investment is worth it. Plus, if you remember the all-important equation of cost per wear, that hard-to-ignore price tag will be more than reasonable before you know it.

I see bits and pieces of this shared wisdom shine through our relationship more and more each day. Last winter, during one of our many daily phone calls, my mom expressed genuine excitement over a new handbag she ordered for me as a Christmas present. Not to say she would not have discovered the wonders of Lauren Merkin (and Tory Burch and Michael Kors…) without my help, but it’s nice to know that I have enriched her life in a way similar to how she has enriched mine – at least when it comes to the world of fashion.

Mom and I found another commonality in our shared love for this handbag - Ava clutch by Lauren Merkin.

One Response to “Like Mother, Like Daughter”

  1. cocktailsattiffanys October 20, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    Love the clutch…and what a beautiful entry!

    Thanks!

    -Lucky

Leave a Reply

