Packing Lightly

4 Nov

If you know how to pack lightly, you know how to live lightly. Life is a journey. Enjoy the ride. – Diane von Furstenberg

As an indecisive girl with commitment issues, it is imperative that I have options when the time comes to get dressed.  I usually pick out a few outfits the night before (a habit that my mother taught my five-year-old self when I started kindergarten), helping my mornings to go a bit more smoothly.  But when I’m traveling, these choices must fit neatly into my suitcase, ready to be worn or cast aside depending on my mood.

With this idea in mind, I wholeheartedly believe that the most challenging and daunting aspect of taking a vacation is the mere thought of picking out – in advance, mind you – the perfect outfit for days and evenings that all hold the unknown. And bringing shoes, clutches, and jewelry into the mix? Nearly impossible. Moreover, packing never gets easier: every trip calls for different mix of items, making each time an entirely new and unrepeatable effort.

Despite the overwhelming nature of this task, I pride myself on my ability to pack.  In preparation for family vacations, my father was insistent that we not exceed a certain number of suitcases, the number being dependent upon the nature of the trip. For instance, when we went skiing, we had one (very large) suitcase devoted only to ski gear. The challenge, then, was fitting our regular clothes into two additional suitcases. I’d bring in piles of absolutely, inarguably must-be-packed sweaters and jackets and pants and shoes and be forced to leave many of them behind.

While I argued with my dad at the time, in hindsight, I appreciate this lesson learned.  A weekend trip to Vegas fits easily into a small duffle bag, while a week-long adventure at the beach can be tucked away in a carry-on sized rolling suitcase.  Last year, I ran into a friend at the airport over Labor Day weekend, and he was shocked that I had packed only a Longchamp tote bag (filled to the brim, of course) and my purse for a long weekend away.  Perhaps I’m not as high maintenance as boys so often assume.  With that being said, packing for an upcoming two-week trip to Colorado will truly put my skills (and my luggage selection) to the test. But we’ll cross that bridge when we get there.

Truth be told, as I write this post, I should be filling my suitcase for an upcoming trip to Miami. I’m attending a wedding with my boyfriend, and fitting the nine dresses and four pairs of shoes that I need (for a three-day trip, mind you) into my bag is proving quite impossible. Perhaps I should heed my own advice and pack a bit lighter.

my suitcase of choice: Longchamp Le Pliage trolley bag

One Response to “Packing Lightly”

  1. Allison November 4, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    Miami?!!

    Oh, and hi! I’ve been reading your blog & love it. More pics of you please. 🙂

Leave a Reply

