Father-Daughter Bonding at…Chanel

8 Nov

Oh, it’s delightful to have ambitions. Just as soon as you attain to one ambition you see another one glittering higher up still. – Anne of Green Gables

When I was a little girl, my parents instilled in me a quality that never fails to bubble to the surface with every new opportunity and experience: the courage to dream – and dream big. It is, perhaps, this personality trait that led my 21-year-old self to the Chanel boutique with my heart set on a new handbag. Not just any black bag, mind you, but the bag: the Timeless Classic Tote in black-quilted leather with gold accents and marked by the forever-recognizable interlocking, double-C logo.

everything that a girl could ever want in a handbag

Lucky for me (and my nowhere-near-sufficient bank account), my parents were willing to loan me the money. I spent the summer interning in New York City and saved as many pennies as I could. By November, I had saved enough to pay for a portion of my perfect purse and agreed to pay off the rest throughout the next year.  Seeing as I was a senior in college during this time and not working, I’m not sure how I managed to follow this payment plan. Somehow, I did, and by November of the following year, the handbag was officially mine.

Now, my parents may have filled with my head and heart with ambition, but one lesson that never quite stuck with me was patience.  I was spending the rest of the holiday week away from home, and seeing as I packed my suitcase with the intentions of carrying this yet-to-be-purchased purse, my father was left with no choice but to take me to Chanel before dropping me off at the airport.  If only that errand could be a pre-trip ritual.

We’re nearing the three-year anniversary of my momentous purchase, and this bag is still the most treasured item in my closet. As much as I love it and plan to carry it forever, the main reason that it’s so special is because the story of how it came to be mine is also something that I will carry with me forever.

I’ve already set my sights on my next Chanel handbag. Just don’t tell my dad.

my first date - we danced the night away!

always a daddy's girl

One Response to “Father-Daughter Bonding at…Chanel”

  1. DB November 8, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    this is so cute Whit Whit- your entire blog is simply precious, but you know how close Chanel is to my heart as well. Miss you, now move back to NYC!!!

Leave a Reply

