Dress to Impress

9 Nov

You may have great inner resources, but they don’t show up as confidence when you don’t feel pretty. And when the world approves, self-respect is just a little bit easier. The pursuit of beauty is honorable. – Estee Lauder

While on my post-college job hunt, I often had phone interviews rather than face-to-face meet-and-greets. Although this long-distance method of communication had nothing to do with what I was wearing, I always picked out a proper outfit for the big day. As someone who knows me better than most people in my life, my father reminded me of the confidence that comes with feeling pretty.

Now, I have an even bigger challenge when it comes to prepping for interviews.  As a nanny, I not only have to present myself in a put-together way, but I also have to ensure that whatever I’m wearing makes it easy for me to get down on the floor and play with kids.  I was recently put to this test, having an interview with a new family scheduled after a full day of nannying for an existing family.  I decided on J. Crew boyfriend jeans (comfortable enough to withstand chasing after a youngster all day) with a navy blue sleeve top and floral cardigan (both from J. Crew as well), making it easy to go from air-conditioned indoors to the sunny outdoors. Just to add a bit of “me” to the outfit, I wore hot pink Tory Burch Patent Reva Ballerina Flats.  I was happy with my choices – and I got the job.

I unconditionally believe that personal appearance plays a leading role in first impressions, and removing this piece of the puzzle unequivocally changes a relationship’s dynamic. It is always imperative to take pride in your identity. Be sure to dress to impress – even if it is only for the reflection smiling back at you in the mirror.

 

don't forget to smile!

One Response to “Dress to Impress”

  1. DB November 12, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    Love your blog more each day with each new post. I agree, one should always be dressed to impress at any moment.

Leave a Reply

