Girls Just Want to Have Fun

10 Nov

The best thing about dreams is that fleeting moment, when you are between asleep and awake, when you don’t know the difference between reality and fantasy, when for just that one moment you feel with your entire soul that the dream is reality, and it really happened. – Oprah Winfrey

Revisiting the first season of Gossip Girl (trust me, it’s just as amazing three years later), I was reminded of one of my favorite girlhood traditions: slumber parties. Now, a Blair Waldorf soirée is not your typical sleepover.  Pastel-colored trundle beds and truffles on the Upper East Side translate to Disney-themed sleeping bags and freshly-popped popcorn in the real world. Even so, this overnight activity still plays a big role in every woman’s past.

Sleeping away from home for the first time is a big moment in a little girl’s life.  It’s easy for me to remember this treasured night because it was the day that my brother was born.  I was as excited as a big sister could be for Colin’s impending arrival, but having a three-year-old at the hospital makes things a bit too complicated. Instead, I spent the evening at a friend’s house and met the new baby the next day. My first sleepover and a little brother to torture – it was quite a big weekend in my world.

College is kind of like a slumber party that lasts for four years (or maybe more). You’re permanently sleeping away from home. Your family and high school friends are always a phone call away, but your college friends are just a knock-on-the-door – or sometimes even just a walk-to-the-other-side-of-the-room – away.  Of course, after a fun night out, we all usually ended up in one dorm room, proving that it is possible for seven girls to sleep on a couch and in three twin beds.

As a grown-up (which I am, even if based on age alone), I still love the occasional slumber party. Recently, after a long day of playing with babies (it’s harder than it sounds), I went over to a girlfriend’s for a seemingly harmless and low-key night. Three bottles of wine later, I was in no condition to drive home, so we had a spur-of-the-moment sleepover – a perfect way to start my weekend. Moreover, when I’m separated from my best friends by cities and busy lives, 24-7 bonding time is just what we need. A bottle of wine (or three), some delicious take-out and a chick flick – maybe dreams do come true.

how come my friends never threw slumber parties like blair waldorf?

baby brother was a good enough excuse for my first sleepover.

Leave a Reply

