Way Down South

15 Nov

Oh the sweetest winds, they blow across the South… – Zac Brown Band, “Oh My Sweet Carolina”

As a little girl, living in the South meant summer days were passed wearing only a bathing suit and bare feet and summer nights were spent catching fireflies in the backyard. As I got older, it meant that our car radios blasted country music, that our cups were usually filled with sweet tea, that our tan lines lasted nearly all year. And then there was college. College in the South meant pairing pearls with sorority t-shirts, wearing dresses to football games and playing beer pong instead of Beirut.

No matter your age, there is one thing that truly brings Southerners together.  The start of fall signifies cooler weather, riding boots and falling leaves, but the most important marker of this time of year is football season. I believe that it was inevitable that my brother and I both attend SEC schools, partly due to proximity to home but equally due to our familiarity with the football teams. Having just watched the Auburn Tigers take on the Georgia Bulldogs (and kick some major butt), I can easily argue my case. Taking school pride to an unprecedented level, cars sported tiger tails, and students drank out of orange solo cups. It was even assumed that I was a Georgia fan based on my red car.  Good thing my parents were driving a blue one.

the stadium was filled with orange and blue. WAR EAGLE!

Born and raised in Georgia, I’ve lived in the same house in the same town since I was three years old.  As recent as 2009, Peachtree City was ranked the number eight Best Place to Live by Money magazine. The city’s claim to fame is unarguably the miles and miles of golf cart paths that stretch from side to side, making it easy to take a golf cart to nearly any destination. While my friends and I often referred to Peachtree City as Pleasantville and lamented our childhoods spent in “the bubble”, looking back, I cannot imagine a better place to call home.

It is for these reasons and many more that I ended up back in the South after two years away.  Being from the South means more than a funny accent and a friendly smile.  For me, it’s a way of life, a way of family – and something that I will always carry with me, no matter where I end up.

forever one of my favorite views: my backyard

Leave a Reply

