Seeing Spots

16 Nov

My weakness is wearing too much leopard print. – Jackie Collins

While working in my church’s nursery recently, I saw one of my favorite little girl outfits to-date. A particularly well-dressed 18-month-old wore a black turtleneck and jeans, complete with a leopard-print belt, shoes and giant bow (of course). This budding fashionista served as perfect proof for two rules of fashion: black can be a perfect backdrop for any outfit. But when that black is too basic, animal print is the perfect way to liven up a look.

Designers seem to agree: there is a plethora of animal-print accessories this season, with leopard print being the dominating choice by far.  While a girl cannot go wrong with a leopard handbag or headband, my favorite expression of this trend is found in shoes (shocking, I know). Christian Louboutin has a pair of leopard booties or pumps for any mood, proving that he understands a woman’s need for options. For my shoe collection, I opted for a pair of Tory Burch leopard flats, bought a few years ago on Gilt Groupe.  In haircalf rather than leather or suede, the texture adds a little oomph to the shoes, making them the perfect addition to any neutral outfit.

one pair of leopard-print booties, three looks from Kim Kardashian

In an effort to further support my addiction to this trend, a new item has rapidly climbed to the top of my wish list: Rebecca Taylor’s Zip Front Hoodie in a heather grey puma-print. With temperatures finally dropping to the 40s, this sweater would be a great something extra to keep in my car and help me survive these chilly nights.  If only my budget agreed.

Leopard print can easily find its way into home décor as well.  I recently purchased a new welcome mat from Ballard Designs. Leopard print and prettily-wrapped in a green holiday bow, it is the perfect way to take this trend one step further and usher in the holiday season.

Happy hunting!

my favorite way to say merry christmas!

Leave a Reply

