Dancing in the Rain

17 Dec

Let the rain kiss you. Let the rain beat upon your head with silver liquid drops. Let the rain sing you a lullaby. – Langston Hughes

When I moved to Tennessee this past summer, little did I know that it is the sixth rainiest state in the country, receiving an average annual rainfall of 54 inches (source). The city of Nashville is close behind this number, receiving an average of 48 inches per year. There’s something especially gloomy about a Nashville rain: contrary to the popular saying, when it rains here, it doesn’t pour – it just constantly drizzles for days and days. Take the past two days, for instance; I don’t think there was one bit of sunshine to be seen.

Surprising to no one I’m sure, my favorite part of a rainy day is the fashion that makes for a weather-resistant ensemble. An umbrella is one of the few accessories that doesn’t have to match to enhance your overall look; I tend to go for the wildest and craziest print that I can find. (I also tend to break umbrellas quite easily, so I may not be the best person to offer purchasing advice.)  Along with an umbrella, you’ll need a rain jacket or trench coat. I have a North Face rain jacket for when I’m feeling sporty, a khaki Banana Republic trench coat for when I need to look like a grown-up (similar to this one) and a navy blue Juicy Couture trench coat (complete with ruffles and yellow polka dot lining) for when I’m feeling girly.

Of course, we cannot forget the proper footwear. To ensure that I have rain boots to match any and every outfit in my closet, I own three pairs (I told you that I loved shoes). I received my first pair as a Christmas gift quite a few years ago.  They are brown Sperry Pelican Wedge Sadie Tall Rubber Boots, complete with a lovely bow in front and a two-inch wedge heel, perfect for a day when I need a little lift.

My second pair of rain boots was my first big purchase after securing a job in the real world. To help me survive the rainy spring days and snowy winter nights of Chicago, I ventured downtown and bought a pair of Burberry Check Rainboots (and so began my love affair with Michigan Avenue). I more than got my money’s worth during the year that I lived in the Windy City – and they have since kept my feet dry in New York City and Nashville as well.

Undoubtedly, my favorite wellies are bright turquoise Original Hunter Boots that I purchased in the spring (mine are from Bloomingdale’s). This pair is the perfect accessory for a rainy day, instantly brightening any dreary outfit or stormy mood. They never fail to add an extra skip to my step and serve as excellent puddle-jumping boots.

We all have rainy days – and sometimes, the weather outside fails to reflect our turmoil inside. Still, with every rainy day (both literally and metaphorically) comes an opportunity for a lesson learned, one that is best summed up in a quote by Vivian Greene: “Life’s not about waiting for the storms to pass. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.”  So next time it starts pouring down, put on those wellies and go splash around until that bad mood washes away!

my favorite wellies

happy girls, dancing in the rain at a lady antebellum concert

Leave a Reply

