Going the Distance

7 Jan

Absence sharpens love; presence strengthens it. – Benjamin Franklin

Seven days into the new year, and I can say with great certainty that it’s off to a wonderful start. For the first time in our relationship, I’ve been lucky enough to spend an entire week with my boyfriend (with one more week to go!).  Invading his world has made me quite conscious of my girly tendencies. It’s also made me quite conscious of his boyish habits. A few noteworthy moments…

  • After spending New Year’s weekend in Telluride, we returned to Ross’ house, and I immediately jumped into domestic mode, folding blankets, making his bed and picking up his clothes (clean and dirty). Fortunate for me, he’s been very patient with my need to be neat. One afternoon, he even allowed us to focus solely on cleaning (although he limited me to two rooms). Who knew that the sweetest boy I know is also the messiest?

our very happy (but cold) new year.

  • Somehow, in spite of my fear of guns, he convinced me to go shooting with him and one of his buddies. I grew up with a brother who left a shotgun propped by the door every time a boy came over, but I’ve never been comfortable around guns. Still, Ross persuaded me to shot not one but two guns. If that’s not true love, I don’t what is.

i was much more smiley without a gun in my hands...

  • Being an avid reader of my blog (although he admits that he “skims over” the fashion-focused posts), he knew that one of my resolutions for 2011 was to cook more often. Helping me keep my word, we’ve enjoyed more home-cooked meals this week than I expected. He’s even been understanding of my vegetarian preferences and stuck with seafood-based meals (including a very delicious meal of goat cheese-stuffed-shrimp). Tonight, I was the lucky recipient of (drumroll, please)…macaroni and cheese with baby tomatoes. That still counts as cooking, right?
  • Time for a confession: I’m (more than) a bit accident-prone. Yesterday, I managed to dislocate my shoulder while brushing my hair (it’s possible, I swear). One thing that always amazes me about Ross is his ability to be rational (or what he calls “right”) in every situation. I tend to base my decisions on my emotions, which means that reason is often clouded in my mind. Through my tears and stubbornness, he convinced me to call my dad (my doctor), who told him that he needed to take me to the emergency room. A few hours and Vicodin tablets later, we returned home with my shoulder where it belonged. As nervous as he was (he’s going to kill me for saying that), he handled the crisis quite well and proved that he’s a great guy to have on my side.

After dating from so far apart for so long, I was more than a little nervous about being with Ross 24-7. I quickly realized, though, that being together for two weeks is really no different than spending as many long weekends together as possible. We just fit. We make sense. I suppose it’s true: opposites do attract (after all, I’d pick shoe shopping over a shooting range any day).  There’s no denying that I’m a very lucky girl.

Leave a Reply

