Connecting the Dots

11 Jan

From now on, I’ll connect the dots my own way. – Bill Watterson

As I mentioned in a previous post, Ross admitted that, while he does look at every blog post, he usually does nothing more than glance at the ones dealing with fashion.  In his own words: “I don’t really care about polka dots, let’s be honest.”  Upon further reflection of this comment, I realized that I had yet to write about polka dots, one of my favorite patterns (second to stripes, of course).

this little guy keeps my savings safe.

(photo: source)

Polka dots can liven up any outfit, but there are a few basic fashion rules to help you avoid looking like you belong at a circus. Sticking with my love for nautical-themed clothes, I like white polka dots on a red or navy blue background. Polka dots make a statement all by themselves, so it’s usually best to stick to neutrals rather than going crazy with color.  Personally, I prefer smaller prints (as shown by my picture selection below). Large polka dots can be overwhelming and not quite as easy to mix and match.

a fun top for a warm, spring day

i love this Madewell by Alexa Chung dress and have a similar one in my own closet.

(photo 1: source, photo 2: source)

Which brings me to my next point: I love to wear contrasting prints, and polka dots look great with stripes or floral or whatever else is hiding in your closet. Just be sure to stick with the same color palate.  My go-to interview outfit is a floral black-and-white skirt with a black-and-white polka-dotted top, both from J. Crew. I believe that your clothing choice is a reflection of your personality, and never is it more important to be yourself than when you’re making a first impression. The more you feel like yourself, the more confident you’ll be – and voila! The job is your’s. Who knew that those polka dots could be so vital to your future?

a perfect example of mixing and matching prints

(photo: source)

Leave a Reply

