Golden Globe Awards 2011: Fashion Recap

18 Jan

Just around the corner in every woman’s mind is a lovely dress, a wonderful suit, or entire costume, which will make an enchanting new creature of her. – Wilhela Cushman

The Golden Globe Awards were held in Beverly Hills on Sunday.  I know I’m a bit behind with this post, but it took me a few days to watch the show in it’s entirety. Plus, I, of course, had to watch E!’s Live from the Red Carpet before I could make an adequate assessment of the night’s glamorous gowns.

As always, there were quite a few commonalities among the attendees’ dress choices. Many women wore classic black (which is to be expected) – Halle Berry, Piper Perabo and Julianne Hough, for starters – and they all looked stunning on the backdrop of the red carpet (which is also to be expected). Personally, I fell for the nude-colored dresses (à la Dianna Agron, Scarlett Johansson and Kaley Cuoco, just to name a few).  For me, the biggest surprise of the night (and perhaps not in the best way) was the number of hunter green dresses. Catherine Zeta-Jones, Mila Kunis and Elizabeth Moss all wore this bold color, and while I love it for everyday dressing, I thought it was less appealing in such a glitzy setting.

In terms of style, one-shouldered dresses made a strong showing, as Lea Michele models below.  As with most fancy occasions, sparkly dresses are always on-trend.  Carrie Underwood, Anne Hathaway and Olivia Wilde (all three below) dove into this style head-first, while Sandra Bullock just dipped in her toes.  My favorite accessory also made it’s mark: many women opted for a simple dress with a pair of statement shoes – or, in Helena Bonham Carter’s case, a pair of mismatched statement shoes.

Originally, I intended to pick my three favorite dresses, but per usual, I struggled with my decision-making skills and instead settled on my top six looks of the evening. Drum roll, please…

6. One of my favorite up-and-coming actresses is Emma Stone. As much as I love her as a redhead, I think she looks even more beautiful as blonde (she reverted back to her natural hair color for her role in the upcoming Spiderman movie). Her choice of a bright sherbet Calvin Klein Collection sheath makes her look like she’s glowing. I feel like a girl couldn’t help but feel pretty in a dress like that!

this peach color perfectly complements Emma's blonde hair and tanned skin.

(photo: source)

5. On-trend in terms of color and sparkle, Carrie Underwood sticks with the basics and looks beautiful in a blush-colored and sequined sweetheart gown by Badgley Mischka. Her neat chignon pairs perfectly with the sleekness of her dress.

the perpetually stunning Carrie

(photo: source)

4. January Jones adds a pop to my best-dressed list.  She always makes a statement, and this red and fringed Versace dress may be my favorite so far.  She made a slight nod to Betty Draper with her retro curls, adding a touch of softness to such a bold (and somewhat scandalous) look.

January's smoldering glare and red lips accent her sassy gown.

(photo: source)

3. Styled by the lovely Rachel Zoe, Anne Hathaway sparkles (quite literally) in a bronze sequined number by Giorgio Armarni Privé. I love the contrast of her long-sleeved but backless gown. It’s quite different than her previous award show choices but follows her tendency for an ethereal yet strong overall look.

Anne looks like a Golden Globe statue herself!

(photo: source)

2. Lea Michele’s one-shouldered Oscar de la Renta gown combines two of my favorite things: light pink and ruffles. This dress just makes me smile!

always love Lea's looks at award shows

(photo: source)

And the best-dressed gal was (in my book, at least)…

1. Olivia Wilde never fails to impress me when she walks a red carpet. I’m always in awe of her style choices, and this dress proves no different.  Wearing a chocolate brown and sequined ball gown by Marchesa, she toughened up her look with spiky and sparkly gold Christian Louboutin booties. For me, it was the perfect mix of girly and edgy. Her blunt bangs and simple hairstyle sealed the deal.

Olivia is perfection.

(photo: source)

One Response to “Golden Globe Awards 2011: Fashion Recap”

  1. bucklebuttonzip January 18, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    I love to see everyone’s list for best dressed. That Versace on January Jones was a show stopper, wasn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

