Four Eyes…Again

27 Jan

I always think about what it means to wear eyeglasses. When you get used to glasses you don’t know how far you could really see. – Andy Warhol

When I was younger, I was one of those strange little girls who wanted glasses.  I remember buying my first (fake) pair at Claire’s and being unable to take them off (as if they actually made a difference).  Little did I know that my wish would come true…

During the summers, my dad used to play doctor on Cat Cay island in the Bahamas, and my family would tag along for a week of vacation.  One afternoon, he decided to check our vision. My brother, of course, had better-than-perfect vision. This kid never had to wear braces either – he got the good genes in the family. Me? Not so much. I returned home and promptly visited the eye doctor.  When my parents asked why I never mentioned that I had trouble seeing, I said that I just thought it was normal. How was I supposed to know that things far away shouldn’t be blurry?

After wearing glasses for a few years, I had LASIK surgery, thinking I’d never have to deal with poor vision again.  The surgery came at the perfect time: I ended my high school years and spent my college years being able to see without any hitches. However, in recent months, I noticed those blurry edges creeping back into my life.  On one particularly rainy Nashville afternoon, I struggled to read a street sign and was afraid to drive again. Back to the eye doctor for me!

Lucky for me, I found a pair of tortoise shell Tory Burch frames that make me feel stylish and smart. Oh, and they allow me to see clearly again.  As Dad said, he should’ve known that I would turn getting glasses into a fashion event.  Success!

my new eyes

(photo: source)

Leave a Reply

